LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Itchcraft

Written by Simon Mayo

Part of the ITCH Series

Key Stage 2 Adventure Stories School Stories

LoveReading View on Itchcraft

Fans of teen element hunter and chemistry aficionado, Itchingham Lofte, will be delighted to see him back for another adventure, and they won’t be disappointed: this is another gripping page turner. As ever the MacGuffin is the coveted chemical element 126: Itch and his accomplices Jack and Chloe must find the last pieces of it and destroy them.  The plot takes them to exotic locations, and the action is typically explosive! Mayo keeps great control of his material though, uses humour well, and it’s great to watch the development of the main characters throughout the stories. Perfect for fans of Horowitz, this is a smart, well-written thriller.  ~ Andrea Reece

The first two books in the series - Itch and Itch Rocks -  have sold over 100,000 copies combined. Itchcraft is the latest breath-taking instalment combining Alex Rider-esque action with a cool scientific edge. Fun, likeable male and female main characters Itch and Jack make this story appealing to both boys and girls.

Simon Mayo says, "As soon as I came across the fact that a small number of people like to collect elements from the periodic table—they call themselves ‘element hunters’—I knew I had got my story... I wanted to make sure that everything in the book is technically accurate; even if this new element doesn’t actually exist, in theory it could."

LoveReading4Kids

Itchcraft Synopsis

Itchingham Lofte, teenage element hunter and unlikely hero, has had anough excitement to last him a lifetime. Stumbling across an unknown radioactive element and trying to keep it out of the hands of those who want to use it for their own ends was hard enough. But when a school trip to Spain ends in exploding currency and rioting locals, he knows that he has to continue to look for answers. Itch knows the lives of those closest to him are at risk. He must track down a deadly enemy who will stop at nothing to take his vengeance...

You can follow Itch on Twitter @itchingham. Click here to download an iPad app to bring the elements to life or here for the Android App.

Itchcraft Press Reviews

Praise for Itch and Itch Rocks

With its explosive mix of action and adventure, chemistry lessons will never be the same again   Sarah Kingsford, Daily Express 

You’ll be itching to read more Anthony Horowitz

Itchingham, a science-mad boy, is trying to collect examples of all the elements. He gets hold of a peculiar rock from a shadowy contact but some sinister heavies are also keen to get hold of it (and him) and he goes on the run in this gripping read. Financial Times Books of the Year

An exciting and nail-biting thriller. Booktrust

Amid the teenage intrigue and heart-in-mouth escapades there are sequin flashes of real science: reminders that physical chemistry really does make things happen. -- Tim Radford The Guardian

Book Information

ISBN: 9780552569064
Publication date: 26th March 2015
Author: Simon Mayo
Publisher: Corgi Childrens an imprint of Random House Children's Publishers UK
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 448 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Adventure Stories, School Stories

About Simon Mayo

Simon Mayo is best known for his BBC Radio 2 Drivetime show. He began writing four years ago, when he decided to create something for his son Joe, an avid reader and science nut. Having spent ten years interviewing scientists for his Radio 5 Live show he had plenty of ideas, and was soon consumed by ITCH and his story, waking up in the middle of the night to write. Simon has spent the last three years juggling his broadcasting job with visiting schools and talking about the ITCH series. During this time he’s met over 10,000 children as well as ...

More About Simon Mayo

More Books By Simon Mayo

Cover for Blame by Simon Mayo
Cover for Itchcraft by Simon Mayo
Cover for Itch Rocks by Simon Mayo
View All Books By Simon Mayo

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools