Book Details


Format

Paperback

Author

Andri Snaer Magnason

Publisher

Pushkin Children's Books

Publication date

7th May 2015

Author's Website

www.andrimagnason.com/

ISBN

9781782690658

Please note:

Adobe Reader is required to view extracts - click below to get the latest version,
get acrobat reader
Click here to tell your school about Lovereading 4schools Recommend this website to a friend 
Search
School name or postcode:

Schools Loginparents Login
FAQ

FAQ

The Story of the Blue Planet

Andri Snaer Magnason


Lovereading - -Year 5 (age 9-10)

More books from this list

Book 77 of 86.
View the next book in this list
View the next book in this list

Download Extract  

The Lovereading comment

A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of the Blue Planet is a critically acclaimed global hit being published in the UK for the first time.  It's the story of two children who live on a planet inhabited only by children who never grow old but in other ways it's a world not unlike our own.  There's a powerful underlying message about caring for our environment whilst at the same time telling a wonderfully entertaining story that is combined with bright, magical illustrations.

 

Synopsis

The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason

Winner of the 2014 UKLA Book Award: an eco-fable with heart and humour.

Brimir and Hulda are best friends, living on a beautiful blue planet where there are no grown-ups, life is wild and free, and each day is more exciting than the last. Until, one day, a rocket ship piloted by a strange-looking adult named Gleesome Goodday crashes on the beach. He promises to make life a hundred times more fun - with flying-powder, and coated skin so that noone ever has to bathe again - and even nails the sun to their sky. But Hulda and Brimir soon discover that their endless fun has consequences they could never have imagined. Could it be that Gleesome Goodday is not everything he seems?

An extraordinary adventure of magic and generosity, and a beautifully simple tale of selfishness and sacrifice, The Story of the Blue Planet will delight and challenge readers of every age.

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named 'Novel of the Year' by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize. The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Magnason is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.


Reviews

'A Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas' The New York Times

'Ambitious and intriguing, it creates a fable whose contemporary relevance will be easily grasped by its intended readers... there is nothing that I can think of in contemporary English language writing for children that has this kind of ambition' -- Clive Barnes


About The Author

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named Novel of the Year by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize.

The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Andri is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.


To search for more books by Andri Snaer Magnason on Lovereading - click here