The Story of the Blue Planet

Written by Andri Snaer Magnason

Illustrated by Aslaug Jonsdottir

Key Stage 2 Fantasy / Magical

LoveReading View on The Story of the Blue Planet

A wonderfully engaging environmental fable from Iceland that was the first children's book in translation to be published by Pushkin, and the first to win a UKLA 7-11 Book Award

Winner of the UKLA Book Awards 7-11 category 2014

A whimsical fairy tale that will appeal to fans of Maurice Sendak, Dr Seuss and Hans Christian Andersen, The Story of the Blue Planet is a critically acclaimed global hit being published in the UK for the first time.  It's the story of two children who live on a planet inhabited only by children who never grow old but in other ways it's a world not unlike our own.  There's a powerful underlying message about caring for our environment whilst at the same time telling a wonderfully entertaining story that is combined with bright, magical illustrations.

 

More About This Book

Andri Snær Magnason’s enthralling eco-story is one of the launch titles from Pushkin Children’s Books, a new imprint of leading literary publisher, Pushkin Press.

A Piece of Passion from Pushkin Children’s Books Publisher Adam Freudenheim  “We were immediately attracted to The Story of the Blue Planet, as it's that rare thing: a children's book which has a powerful message (in this case about the need to care for our environment) which at the same time tells a wonderful, fantastically entertaining story. I loved the idea of a planet without grownups – as I'm sure all children will! – brought to life through the sheer exuberance of Magnason’s storytelling. Combined with bright, magical illustrations and the gravitas of international critical acclaim, we had to have it as one of our launch titles for Pushkin Children's Books.”

The first children’s book to win the prestigious Icelandic Literary Prize, it has already published in 26 countries and been made into a play.

The Story of the Blue Planet Synopsis

Winner of the 2014 UKLA Book Award: an eco-fable with heart and humour.

Brimir and Hulda are best friends, living on a beautiful blue planet where there are no grown-ups, life is wild and free, and each day is more exciting than the last. Until, one day, a rocket ship piloted by a strange-looking adult named Gleesome Goodday crashes on the beach. He promises to make life a hundred times more fun - with flying-powder, and coated skin so that noone ever has to bathe again - and even nails the sun to their sky. But Hulda and Brimir soon discover that their endless fun has consequences they could never have imagined. Could it be that Gleesome Goodday is not everything he seems?

An extraordinary adventure of magic and generosity, and a beautifully simple tale of selfishness and sacrifice, The Story of the Blue Planet will delight and challenge readers of every age.

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named 'Novel of the Year' by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize. The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Magnason is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

The Story of the Blue Planet Press Reviews

'A Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas' The New York Times

'Ambitious and intriguing, it creates a fable whose contemporary relevance will be easily grasped by its intended readers... there is nothing that I can think of in contemporary English language writing for children that has this kind of ambition' -- Clive Barnes

Book Information

ISBN: 9781782690658
Publication date: 7th May 2015
Author: Andri Snaer Magnason
Illustrator: Aslaug Jonsdottir
Publisher: Pushkin Children's Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 144 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Fantasy / Magical

About Andri Snaer Magnason

Andri Snaer Magnason is one of Iceland's most celebrated young writers. In 2002 Love Star was named Novel of the Year by Icelandic booksellers and received the DV Literary Award and a nomination to the Icelandic Literary Prize. The Story of the Blue Planet - now published or performed in 22 countries - was the first children's book to receive the Icelandic Literary Prize and was also the recipient of the Janusz Korczak Honorary Award and the West Nordic Children's Book Prize. Andri is the winner of the 2010 Kairos Award.

More About Andri Snaer Magnason

More Books By Andri Snaer Magnason

Cover for The Story of the Blue Planet by Andri Snaer Magnason
View All Books By Andri Snaer Magnason

Share this book