LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

There's a Bear on My Chair

Written by Ross Collins

Part of the Ross Collins Series

Early Years

LoveReading View on There's a Bear on My Chair

As recognised by the inaugural Amnesty Cilip Honour, it is never too young to learn about justice in this beautifully characterised and impressively simple tale

Winner of the UKLA 2017 Book Award | One of our Books of the Year 2016 | Shortlisted for the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal 2016 | Shortlisted for the Bookbug Picture Book Prize 2016

Text, illustration and design all combine to make this an outstanding picture book. Mouse is cross, there’s a bear – a polar bear – on his chair, he won’t move and ‘There isn’t any room to spare. We do not make a happy pair’. The bear is apparently oblivious to Mouse and his growing rage, though readers will notice him take an occasional sly peek at his companion, deftly illustrated in just one line of eyebrow. Collins’s illustrations also brilliantly capture Mouse’s changing moods, from anger through to resignation. The text is a joy to read, a series of funny statements constructed – Dr Seuss-like – around words that rhyme with chair. A sequel – There’s a Mouse in My House – must follow. This superb picture book is set to become a classic.

 

Andrea Reece

More About This Book

Commenting on his nomination for the Bookbug Picture Book Prize Ross said:  “I'm SO HAPPY to be shortlisted for this year's Bookbug Picture Book Prize! A book award which is voted for by children is the most honest award any author can hope for.”

Louise from Nosy Crow says: “This hilarious and highly original story featuring mouse and bear with just one chair is perfect for fans of Jon Klassen. Children will laugh out loud and parents will love the clever nature of the story.”

There's a Bear on My Chair Synopsis

Poor Mouse! A bear has settled in his favourite chair and that chair just isn't big enough for two. Mouse tries all kinds of tactics to move the pesky Bear but nothing works and poor Mouse gives up. Once Mouse has gone, Bear gets up and walks home. But what's that? Is that a Mouse in Bear's house?!

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857633941
Publication date: 1st September 2016
Author: Ross Collins
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 32 pages
Year Groups: Early Years

About Ross Collins

Ross Collins' primary 1 teacher, Mrs Spears, told his parents that he should go to art school. 13 years went by until he was finally 'old enough' to get into the Glasgow School of Art. Can you believe that? – 13 years. On graduating he won the Macmillan Prize for his first picture book. Since then he's illustrated over 100 books for children and written a few of them too. Several of them have won enormous glittering awards which he keeps in a box in Latvia. Ross' book The Elephantom was recently adapted into a critically acclaimed play by those clever people at the ...

More About Ross Collins

More Books By Ross Collins

Cover for Cheesemares by Ross Collins
Cover for Blamehounds by Ross Collins
Cover for There's a Mouse in My House by Ross Collins
View All Books By Ross Collins

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools