LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Where The World Turns Wild

Written by Nicola Penfold

Key Stage 2 Key Stage 3

LoveReading View on Where The World Turns Wild

A thrilling eco- survival adventure set in a dystopian vision of our near future

February 2020 Debut of the Month

Debut novelist Nicola Penfold has talked of inspiration from reading about what author Richard Louv called “nature-deficit disorder”. Her strong belief that humans need a connection with nature to be truly happy shines through this powerful story and the creation of the nightmare world that Juniper and her little brother, Bear inhabit. They live with their grandmother in a walled city from which nature has been banished, following an apocalyptic tick-borne disease released by ReWilders willing to sacrifice humans to save the planet. Fifty years on nature flourishes beyond the walls. Within them humans struggle to artificially create what they need to live. Juniper and Bear have always known they have a resistance to the disease, just as they know that their parents are still living in the wild. Juniper always planned their eventual escape, but they must leave urgently when the authoritarian regime reveals a dangerous scheme to farm their blood. What follows is a thrilling and utterly convincing escape and a perilous journey. The rigours of outdoor living and survival are not glossed over- the reader really fears for these characters and feels every setback. Success is won through bravery and persistence and the sibling relationship is beautifully conveyed. Bear is a very recognisable six-year old boy who both frustrates and astonishes his sister. There are no easy solutions to problems and no miraculous happy ending. This is powerful and believable storytelling which will keep readers gripped and inspire lots of discussion about the vulnerability of nature and what humans are doing to the planet. An outstanding debut, beautifully written and utterly compelling.

Joy Court

More About This Book

“We need nature… All that we’ve taken for granted, when Shell has become an oil company and Lynx a brand of deodorant in a plastic container.” - Nicola Penfold

Where The World Turns Wild Synopsis

Animals, trees, flowers, our city forbids them all... Juniper Greene lives in a walled city from which nature has been banished, following the outbreak of a deadly man-made disease many years earlier. While most people seem content to live in such a cage, she and her little brother Bear have always known about their resistance to the disease, and dream of escaping into the wild. To the one place humans have survived outside of cities. To where their mother is. When scientists discover that the siblings provide the key to fighting the disease, the pair must flee for their lives. As they journey into the unknown, they soon learn that there's cruelty in nature as well as beauty. Will they ever find the home they're searching for?

A thrilling and thought-provoking ecological adventure from a fresh new voice in children's fiction. Perfect for fans of The Explorer, The Last Wild and The Island at the End of Everything.

Where The World Turns Wild Press Reviews

This novel packs a powerful punch. It calls on the 'wild' in all of us through the characters of these two brave children. We cannot help being drawn in by their epic struggle.  -- Cath Howe, author of Ella on the Outside

Wondrous, warm-hearted, wildly exhilarating [...] The world is familiar and frightening, the relationships between characters beautifully rendered - Nicola Penfold is an author to watch.  -- Nizrana Farook, author of The Girl Who Stole an Elephant

A beautiful, memorable story about all the important things - love, family, loyalty, and courage - contained inside a brilliant adventure, Where the World Turns Wild can't fail to enthrall any reader lucky enough to encounter it.  -- Sinead O'Hart, author of The Eye of the North and The Star-Spun Web

It is extraordinary! This compelling book has future classic written all over it!  -- Lindsay Galvin, author of The Secret Deep

Where the World Turns Wild is a journey between extremes of grey and green, propelled by a bold and timely concept, and written with sharp, intelligent prose. A truly heartfelt and very striking novel.  -- Darren Simpson, author of Scavengers

Some books are excellent story-telling, and some books broaden your knowledge and mind, and some just ought to be written and this book is all three. I loved it.  -- Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War

Book Information

ISBN: 9781788951524
Publication date: 6th February 2020
Author: Nicola Penfold
Publisher: Stripes Publishing an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 352 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3
Topics: Ecological and Environmental

About Nicola Penfold

Nicola Penfold was born in Merseyside and grew up in Doncaster. She studied English at Cambridge, before completing a Computing Science masters at Imperial College London. WHERE THE WORLD TURNS WILD was shortlisted for the first Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize in 2017. It was also selected for SCBWI's 2018 Undiscovered Voices anthology. Nicola lives with her husband, four children and two cats in North London, and escapes when she can to wilder corners of the UK for adventures.

More About Nicola Penfold

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools