LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Are You Watching?

Written by Vincent Ralph

Key Stage 4 Crime / Mystery Thrillers

LoveReading View on Are You Watching?

A heart pounding crime thriller with an ingenious social media twist

Jess’s mother was the first victim of a serial killer who came to be known as the Magpie Man, and ten years later the case is still unsolved, and the death toll stands at thirteen. A chance to be part of a YouTube reality show for teenagers gives Jess an idea; what if while being filmed, she can goad the Magpie Man into revealing himself? This inevitably raises reader’s questions about the social responsibility of media companies and the way both police and responsible adults allow Jess to take this reckless attitude to her own safety. But in reality, it seems that Jess lost two parents the day her mother was killed, her quest for the killer is also a chance to rescue her father from a deep depression. She luckily has good friends, both old and newly discovered in this process, looking out for her. The plot constantly twists and turns and keeps the reader inexorably gripped throughout. The ultimate reveal of who and why is both satisfactory as well as surprising. Told entirely in the first person the character development of Jess is outstanding and the subtle nuances of grief and the way in which bereavement affects other people and their treatment of you is very well done. A novel that is entirely current and yet with the age-old thrill of a complex mystery.

Joy Court

Are You Watching? Synopsis

A page-turning new YA thriller for the social media age, perfect for fans of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder and One Of Us Is Lying.

Ten years ago, Jess's mother was murdered by the Magpie Man. She was the first of his victims, but not the last. Now Jess is the star of a YouTube reality series and she's using it to catch the killer once and for all. The whole world is watching her every move. And so is the Magpie Man.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780241367421
Publication date: 6th February 2020
Author: Vincent Ralph
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 384 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 4
Topics: Crime / Mystery, Gritty Reads, Thrillers

About Vincent Ralph

Vincent Ralph has been writing in one form or another since his teens and always dreamed of being a novelist. He owes his love of books to his mother, who encouraged his imagination from an early age and made sure there were new stories to read. Vincent has lived in London, Cornwall and Chester but he now lives in his home county of Kent with his wife, son and two cats.

More About Vincent Ralph

More Books By Vincent Ralph

Cover for Lock the Doors by Vincent Ralph
View All Books By Vincent Ralph

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools