LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

The Problem with Problems

Written by Rachel Rooney

Illustrated by Zehra Hicks

Early Years Key Stage 1 Personal Social Health Economic (PSHE)

LoveReading View on The Problem with Problems

A vibrant picture book on what can be done with problems!

Rachel Rooney, well known award-winning poet, and Zehra Hicks have created a positive way of looking at the everyday problems of children and how to deal with them.  The problems are all given a brightly coloured physical form to help children see them for what they are - and look at ways to deal with them. 

The gently rhyming text suggests ways to deal with the problem, and that sharing a problem is a way to help dispose of it.

A lovely way to tackle a sometimes difficult subject in a way that will appeal to many children. Keep it in your classroom for those awkward moments when you can see a child is struggling.

Tricia Adams

The Problem with Problems Synopsis

Have you ever met a Problem? They come in all shapes and sizes, and can pop up at the most inconvenient times. But you should know some things about them that will help you make them disappear...

This one-of-a-kind picture book will help little ones and grown-ups alike deal with their pesky problems, from award-winning children's poet Rachel Rooney and Macmillan Prize commended illustrator Zehra Hicks.

For fans of Ed Vere and Kes Gray.

The Problem with Problems Press Reviews

Problems are given a physical form in this funny, insightful picture book which combines a thoughtful lyrical text with bouncy, bright art - The Bookseller - Editor's Choice

Book Information

ISBN: 9781783448715
Publication date: 5th March 2020
Author: Rachel Rooney
Illustrator: Zehra Hicks
Publisher: Andersen Press Ltd
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 32 pages
Year Groups: Early Years, Key Stage 1
Topics: Family Issues, Personal Social Health Economic , Self-Awareness / Self-Esteem

About Rachel Rooney

RACHEL ROONEY trained and worked as a teacher of Special Needs for many years before re-discovering her love of writing poetry. She was shortlisted for the CLiPPA Poetry Award in 2015 and 2019 and was longlisted for the Carnegie Medal. She has also been a judge for both the CLiPPA and the Betjeman Poetry Prize. Rachel was born in London and now lives in Brighton.  

More About Rachel Rooney

More Books By Rachel Rooney

Cover for A Kid in My Class by Rachel Rooney
Cover for My Life as a Goldfish And Other Poems by Rachel Rooney
Cover for The Language of Cat by Rachel Rooney
View All Books By Rachel Rooney

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools