LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Child of Galaxies

Written by Blake Nuto

Illustrated by Charlotte Ager

Early Years Key Stage 1 General Non-Fiction Reference Books

LoveReading View on Child of Galaxies

A book for the young introducing ideas, creativity and philosophy in a magical world

June 2020 Debut of the Month

This book takes a poetic look at what it means to be alive. Nuto is a debut author – a teacher in Tasmania, who asks some of the big questions about who we all are, about friendship and our place in the universe.  It’s the sort of book that will be a bouncing off point for lots of discussions – but is presented in an accessible and colourful format. Charlotte Ager’s naïve style of illustration means it will appeal across the very young and the not so young.  The bold illustrations offer colour and shade in big pictures. 

Starting with the big questions – that we are made of the stuff of stars, and that we are tiny in comparison to the universe, it goes on to show we have the means to explore, to be both positive and negative.  It shows that though we are a small short-lived speck we have the ability to change the world for the better.  There are some glorious illustrations – full of colour, detail and action, as well as others that are more contemplative.  

A good book to have in your classroom!

Tricia Adams

Child of Galaxies Synopsis

Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,

You're a child of galaxies dreaming.

Child of Galaxies is a thought-provoking and poignant picture book, celebrating the wonder, mystery, resilience and joy of what it means to be alive. Perfect for fans of Here We Are by Oliver Jeffers.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781912497423
Publication date: 2nd June 2020
Author: Blake Nuto
Illustrator: Charlotte Ager
Publisher: Flying Eye Books
Format: Hardback
Year Groups: Early Years, Key Stage 1
Topics: General Non-Fiction, Politics & Law, Reference Books

About Blake Nuto

Blake Nuto is a primary trained teacher with a deep love of children’s literature and a desire to integrate philosophy and mindfulness into education. This is his first book. He currently lives and works in Tasmania.

More About Blake Nuto

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools