LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

The Muddlemoor Mysteries: Peril at the Bake Off

Written by Ruth Quayle

Illustrated by Marta Kissi

Part of the Muddlemoor Mysteries Series

Key Stage 2 Crime / Mystery

LoveReading View on The Muddlemoor Mysteries: Peril at the Bake Off

Holiday fun and games and a delicious crime story too

March 2021 Book of the Month

Forget Midsomer, Muddlemoor Village is a proper crime hotspot, especially with the annual Great Village Bake Off approaching.  Joe is there for the holidays staying at his Granny’s and cousins Tom and Pip are too. The three children are alert for any kind of suspicious activity and have always suspected granny’s neighbour, former MI6 spy (so she says) Anthea and when Granny’s secret recipe for chocolate fudge layer cake goes missing, they’re immediately on the case. Ruth Doyle has a keen understanding of how children see the world, and an excellent ear for the way they speak too and this lively story is full of honest to goodness fun and adventure. I particularly like Pip – quiet, a thinker, not afraid of breaking rules, and quite often to be found upside down in a handstand. The hunt for the missing recipe unfolds wonderfully and there’s a twist at the end that Agatha Christie would be proud of. Marta Kissi’s illustrations are really lovely too.

Andrea Reece

The Muddlemoor Mysteries: Peril at the Bake Off Synopsis

It is the summer holiday and Joe Robinson and his cousins are staying with their granny in Muddlemoor village. The problem is . . . Muddlemoor is a hotspot for crime. When Granny's precious cake recipe goes missing days before the Great Village Bake Off, Joe, Tom and Pip are FLABBERGASTED. They KNOW that one of the neighbours has stolen it but the question is, WHO?

A hilarious brand-new young detective series from Ruth Quayle, packed with great illustrations by Marta Kissi.

Perfect for fans of My Brother is a Superhero.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781839130090
Publication date: 4th March 2021
Author: Ruth Quayle
Illustrator: Marta Kissi
Publisher: Andersen Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 192 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Crime / Mystery

About Ruth Quayle

Ruth Quayle used to work as a journalist and copywriter, and was inspired to write books for children by the funny things her own kids said. Ruth lives in London with her family and when she's not writing, you'll find her stepping on bits of lego, burning fish fingers and trying to convince the children that there really isn't room for a dog.

More About Ruth Quayle

More Books By Ruth Quayle

Cover for The Race to Hornswaggle Rock by Ruth Quayle
Cover for The Battle of the Blighty Bling by Ruth Quayle
Cover for The Muddlemoor Mysteries: The Book Club Bank Heist by Ruth Quayle
View All Books By Ruth Quayle

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools