LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars

Written by Jaclyn Moriarty

Illustrated by Karl James Mountford

Key Stage 2 Adventure Stories Fantasy / Magical School Stories

LoveReading View on The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars

A story of unexpected magic and friendship

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month June 2021

When the Honey Bees from the orphanage take on the smart kids from the Brathelthwaite Boarding School at the Spindrift sports tournament, everyone knows there will be trouble! The two sides have always hated each other. But, when the children begin to disappear and the Whispering Wars break out, both side know they must put aside their differences and work together. Madcap and headlong, Jaclyn Moriarty’s deftly-told adventure is a roller-coaster ride for all those who have loved The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone.

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

More About This Book

Set twelve years before The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone, this stand-alone tale is packed full of quirky characters, and Jaclyn’s signature irreverent humour. Fans of Lemony Snicket and Nevermoor will love this spellbinding tale of unlikely friendship and unexpected magic. And Bronte Mettlestone herself makes an appearance…

 

Julia Eccleshare's Picks for June 2021

The New Girl by Nicola Davies and Cathy Fisher

A Glasshouse of Stars by Shirley Marr

Protest! by Alice Haworth-Booth

The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars by Jaclyn Moriarty

When the Sky Falls by Phil Earle

The Tindims and the Floating Moon by Sally Gardner 

The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars Synopsis

The town of Spindrift is frequented by pirates, Shadow Mages and charlatans. It's also home to the Orphanage School, where Finlay lives with Glim, Taya and Eli. Just outside town is the painfully posh Brathelthwaite Boarding School, home to Honey Bee, Hamish and Victor, Duke of Ainsley. When the two schools compete at the Spindrift Tournament, stakes are high, tensions are higher, and some people are out to win at any cost. Before long, the orphans and the boarding school are in an all-out war. Then Whispering Wars break out, and Spindrift is thrust onto the front lines. Children are being stolen, Witches, Sirens and a deadly magical flu invade the town, and all attempts to fight back are met with defeat. Finlay, Honey Bee and their friends must join forces to outwit the encroaching forces of darkness, rescue the stolen children, and turn the tide of the war. But how can one bickering troupe outwit the insidious power of the Whisperers? And who are the two mysterious figures watching them from the shadows? 

From the award-winning Jaclyn Moriarty comes a spellbinding tale of unlikely friendship, unexpected magic and competitive athletics.

The Slightly Alarming Tale of the Whispering Wars Press Reviews

This jam-packed, imaginative adventure is magically immersive and entertaining. - Kirkus Reviews

A book to shout about! - The i newpaper

Funny, quirky, clever and outrageously entertaining! - Lancashire Post

Set fifteen years before the first book, this standalone tale is packed full of quirky characters, amazing world-building and Moriarty's trademark irreverent humour. - The Best Life Project

Book Information

ISBN: 9781913101121
Publication date: 10th June 2021
Author: Jaclyn Moriarty
Illustrator: Karl James Mountford
Publisher: Guppy Publishing Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Adventure Stories, Fantasy / Magical, School Stories

About Jaclyn Moriarty

Jaclyn Moriarty is the prize-winning author of novels for readers of all ages. They include the Ashbury High books: Feeling Sorry for Celia,  Finding Cassie Crazy, Becoming Bindy Mackenzie and Dreaming of Amelia. Jaclyn grew up in Sydney, Australia with four sisters (including authors Liane and Nicola Moriarty), one brother, two dogs and twelve chickens. She has lived in the US, UK and Canada, but now lives in Sydney again, along with her son, Charlie. She is very fond of chocolate, blueberries and sleep. 

More About Jaclyn Moriarty

More Books By Jaclyn Moriarty

Cover for The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone by Jaclyn Moriarty
Cover for Dreaming of Amelia by Jaclyn Moriarty
Cover for The Stolen Prince Of Cloudburst by Jaclyn Moriarty
View All Books By Jaclyn Moriarty

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools