LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Petunia Perry and the Curse of the Ugly Pigeon

Written by Pamela Butchart

Illustrated by Gemma Correll

Key Stage 2 Funny School Stories

LoveReading View on Petunia Perry and the Curse of the Ugly Pigeon

Peri captures the moment

Misbehaving parents, frustrated artistic ambitions, a unicorn-obsessed boy who dotes on her – just some of the problems detailed in this memoir of 12-year-old Peri (thankfully only her best friend knows her real name). As she writes sitting in the wardrobe, she’s convinced that her best friend Cammy hates her, and that their band The Spoons, which also features Cammy’s cat Margaret, is finished. It also seems that the boy she ‘likes’ likes, is a rotter. Her description of the events leading up to this unusually low point also include the curse of a malevolent pigeon. The story is gloriously funny and no matter how outlandish the action, always believable, and the characters, from Peri’s classmates to her teachers and parents, very well observed. While there’s nothing really to fear from pigeon curses, readers will pick up a sense of the importance of tolerance, kindness and compassion. 

Andrea Reece

More About This Book

The Editor at Nosy Crow says:   “I’ve read this many times now, mostly through a blur of laughter-tears. The serious point behind the humour is how do you keep a sense of individuality in years 7 & 8 when every daft thing that was acceptable in primary school can be used against you. How to fit in without conforming? And the good news is that if Petunia Perry and Camembert Brown can, anyone can!”

This edition is a re-issue.

Petunia Perry and the Curse of the Ugly Pigeon Synopsis

A hilarious novel about how to fit in when you don't want to conform, with brilliant illustrations throughout by world-renowned Gemma Correll. Perfect for fans of Louise Rennison and Holly Smale.

Petunia Perry has decided to write her memoirs. She wants the world to know what it's like to start secondary school with a best friend who stages one-person flash mobs in the canteen, a mother who over-shares at parents' evenings and an unwelcome suitor who draws pictures of her as a unicorn. But it's when she decides to start a band with a spoon-player and a lead-singer who's a cat that things take a turn for the truly crazy...

A laugh-out-loud take from the bestselling author, Pamela Butchart, on the perils of standing out in secondary school. Petunia Perry dares to be different but it's not always easy. But it is always life-affirming and hilarious, and definitely the right thing to be...

Book Information

ISBN: 9780857634887
Publication date: 5th August 2021
Author: Pamela Butchart
Illustrator: Gemma Correll
Publisher: Nosy Crow Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 304 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Funny, School Stories

About Pamela Butchart

As a child, Pamela Butchart was lucky enough to grow up in a house full of pets, have a mum and dad who were bonkers, and go to The Best Most Awesome Primary School in the WorldTM. As a student, Pamela's student jobs included: fishwife, teaching basketball in America, phlebotomist, and Artist Liaison for a (really bad) Abba tribute band. Now, Pamela teaches philosophy to teenagers and spends all day pondering questions such as, 'Is time travel possible?' and 'How do I know I'm not really a robot?' The stories write themselves really...Pamela lives in Dundee with ...

More About Pamela Butchart

More Books By Pamela Butchart

Cover for Penelope Snoop, Ace Detective by Pamela Butchart
Cover for Penelope Snoop, Ace Detective by Pamela Butchart
Cover for A Monster Ate My Packed Lunch  by Pamela Butchart
View All Books By Pamela Butchart

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools