LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Billie Swift Takes Flight

Written by Iszi Lawrence

Key Stage 2 Adventure Stories Historical Fiction

LoveReading View on Billie Swift Takes Flight

The thrilling story of the ATA heroes

September 2012 Book of the Month

A gripping, entertaining and empowering WWII adventure about the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary, perfect for fans of Emma Carroll, Michael Morpurgo and Hilary McKay. The story of WWII starring the brilliant pilots you've never heard of... the women of the Air Transport Auxiliary (ATA) who battled against the odds to get the air force's planes to the front lines.

LoveReading4Kids

Billie Swift Takes Flight Synopsis

When twelve-year-old Billie is out exploring with her pet chicken, she sees a plane crash into a field and is left wondering if the pilot even survived. Determined to find out more, Billie finds a way into the ATA - a group of amazing pilots who defy the odds to get planes from the factories to the front lines - and her life changes for ever. 

Some of the pilots are men who are too old, or too injured for the air force. But many more are women. Intrepid, inspiring women who show Billie what she might grow up to become. With missions including ferrying turkeys over from Ireland and flying unfamiliar, broken planes, Billie is desperate to help.

But piloting fighter planes could turn out to be more than she bargained for...

Book Information

ISBN: 9781472988171
Publication date: 2nd September 2021
Author: Iszi Lawrence
Publisher: Bloomsbury Education
Format: Paperback
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Adventure Stories, Historical Fiction

About Iszi Lawrence

Iszi Lawrence is a comedian, podcaster and history presenter, and author of the historical adventure The Unstoppable Letty Pegg. She is the cohost of BBC Radio 4’s Making History and hosts a number of podcasts including the British Museum Membercast. Iszi is a dark blue belt in Japanese style Jiu Jitsu so she also spends time in the week helping to teach both short people (7-11 year olds) and grown ups how to punch her in the face. She dabbles in illustration, plays the guitar, likes cooking, dinosaurs and enjoys keeping fit. ...

More About Iszi Lawrence

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools