LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Friends Like These

Written by Meg Rosoff

Key Stage 4 Gritty Reads Romance / Relationship Stories

LoveReading View on Friends Like These

No one captures the importance of friendship and the turmoil of coming of age better than Meg Rosoff

June 2022 Book of the Month | A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month June 2022

Into a brief, hot summer slice of late adolescence, award-winning Meg Rosoff brilliantly unpacks a friendship which leads to a sequence of rollercoaster and heady experiences for eighteen year old Beth.

Newly arrived in New York to take up a journalism internship, Beth is immediately swept up by her fellow interns including Eddie, an attractive, talented and rich New Yorker who invites her to move into her parents beautiful and comfortable home. Eager to leave the cockroach infested apartment, her first home on arrival, Beth is entranced by Eddie, whose extraordinary life has already ensured her familiarity with all the experiences - sex, drugs, drink - that are new to Beth. Their heady days together appear to be a reflection of the best friendship in the world. But is it?

As the summer gets hotter, the drinks get stronger and her sense of what she should be doing gets more confused, Beth begins to realise that Eddie is not the friend she seems to be. No one captures the importance of friendship and the turmoil of coming of age better than Meg Rosoff.

Julia Eccleshare M.B.E

Friends Like These Synopsis

New York City. June, 1982. When eighteen-year-old Beth arrives in Manhattan for a prestigious journalism internship, everything feels brand new – and not always in a good way.

A cockroach-infested sublet and a disaffected roommate are the least of her worries, and she soon finds herself caught up with her fellow interns – preppy Oliver, ruthless Dan and ridiculously cool, beautiful, wild Edie. Soon, Beth and Edie are best friends – the sort of heady, allconsuming bestfriendship that’s impossible to resist.

But with the mercury rising and deceit mounting up, betrayal lies just around the corner. Who needs enemies … when you have friends like these?

From bestselling, award-winning author Meg Rosoff comes a gritty, intoxicating novel about a summer of unforgettable firsts: of independence, lies, love and the inevitable loss of innocence. Sharp and irresistible, it's perfect for fans of Sally Rooney’s Conversations with Friends and Exciting Times by Naoise Dolan.

Friends Like These Press Reviews

"A wonderful, captivating writer" - Daily Telegraph

"A magical and utterly faultless voice" - Mark Haddon

Praise for The Great Godden;

“A brilliant short book for someone looking for a thoughtful, impactful summer read… It sounds like it’s going to be the quintessential holiday romance but it’s so much more than that” Pandora Sykes, The High Low Podcast

“This smart and humorous novel is, from the first sentence, rapture to read. Each paragraph is crafted with a joke, insight or observation that makes you eager for more” The Sunday Times

“It wouldn’t be summer without a sun-drenched coming-of-age story, so beautifully realised in Meg Rosoff’s seductive and elegant The Great Godden. ... The heady nostalgia and sweet ache of first love and lost innocence recall classics such as Bonjour Tristesse” Observer

“Far too good to be monopolised by the teenage market. My advice: buy it for the young person in your life and then sneak off with it yourself” The Times

Book Information

ISBN: 9781526646118
Publication date: 9th June 2022
Author: Meg Rosoff
Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens Books an imprint of Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 320 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 4
Topics: Gritty Reads, Romance / Relationship Stories

About Meg Rosoff

Meg Rosoff worked in publishing, journalism, politics and advertising before writing How I Live Now. Her books have won or been shortlisted for 18 international book prizes, including the Carnegie Medal and the Orange First Novel Prize, and been translated into over 20 languages. In 2016, Meg was the recipient of the prestigious Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world’s largest children’s literature award. She lives in London with her family and two dogs. Click here to read a Q&A with the author's Good Dog McTavish. Click here to read more about Meg Rosoff.

More About Meg Rosoff

More Books By Meg Rosoff

Cover for The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff
Cover for The Great Godden by Meg Rosoff
Cover for McTavish on the Move by Meg Rosoff
View All Books By Meg Rosoff

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools