LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Frankie's World

Written by Aoife Dooley

Illustrated by Aoife Dooley

Part of the Frankie's World Series

Key Stage 2 Key Stage 3 Graphic Novels & Comics Family / Home Stories Funny School Stories

LoveReading View on Frankie's World

Graphic novel full of humour, underlining important message about difference

Dooley is an Irish autistic author and illustrator who writes with authority, empathy and humour about the world as viewed by Frankie. Frankie believes she is an alien; she is the smallest person in her class – and she is accused of talking too much! But really all she is different – neurodivergent, though it is not until nearly the end of the book that Frankie gets an insight into why she views things differently. Frankie’s Dad left when she was a baby and she, with friend Sam, decide to track him down. I found it refreshing that Sam is wheelchair bound but that no reference is made to this.

This book so easy to relate to – the world from a child’s point of view is such a confusing place – but this helps us all see how it may be even more confusing if one’s reactions are different from other people. Plus, if we all give time and some empathy, we may be in a better position to befriend and understand. This sounds as if the book is preaching to us – it is most definitely not – it is a delight to read - funny, sympathetic, and ultimately uplifting.

Drawn in a very simple two-colour cartoon style it should be easily accessible across a range of readers. Highly recommended for all readers offering perspective on autism whilst maintaining care and affection for the protagonists.

Tricia Adams

Frankie's World Synopsis

How do you fit in and stand out when you feel different to everyone around you?

Frankie knows she's not like anyone else in her class: she's different, but she can't quite figure out why. Is it the new freckle on her nose, or the fact she's small for her age? Or that she has to go to the hospital sometimes? Everyone else seems to think she's weird too, and they make fun of her at school. Frankie's dad left when she was a baby - maybe he was different too? It would explain why she always feels like an alien. So she and her best-friend Sam, embark on a mission to track him down.

A graphic novel offering a unique perspective on Autism, told with humour and heart. Brought to life with glorious colour artwork in a distinctive blue and orange palette. Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Frankie's World Press Reviews

I loved Frankie's story and could really identify with her character. This is such an amazing graphic novel that represents neurodiversity really realistically. Libby Scott

Aoife Dooley captures Frankie's autistic experience with great care, humour and love. Lizzie Huxley-Jones

A fun and relatable read about awkwardness, self-acceptance, family and friendship. Sarah McIntyre

Unique and often funny ... I cheered Frankie on through her journey. Sue Cheung

Book Information

ISBN: 9780702307355
Publication date: 6th January 2022
Author: Aoife Dooley
Illustrator: Aoife Dooley
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2, Key Stage 3
Topics: Graphic Novels & Comics, Disability / Special Needs, Family / Home Stories, Funny, School Stories

About Aoife Dooley

More About Aoife Dooley

More Books By Aoife Dooley

Cover for 123 Ireland! by Aoife Dooley
Cover for How to Be Massive by Aoife Dooley
View All Books By Aoife Dooley

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools