LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Dinos Don't Give Up!

Written by Smriti Halls

Illustrated by Richard Merritt

Early Years Animal Stories Family / Home Stories Funny

LoveReading View on Dinos Don't Give Up!

Dinah dinosaur superstar shows us how it’s dino-done

July 2022 Book of the Month

Little Dinah the diplodocus is a whizz at everything – you name it, she nails it, from singing to spelling, baking to ballet. She’s a great friend too, always cheering everyone on and providing help with it’s needed. But then Dinah enters a surfing competition and finally discovers something she can’t dino-do.

Time for her friends to give her a big dino-cuddle and before you know it, she’s back on the board again showing us all how it’s dino-done, ie. by picking yourself up and having fun.

It’s a lesson we all need and dino-delivered with style and lots of colour. Little Dinah is a fun and inspiring companion and this is an entertaining and positive story.

Andrea Reece

Dinos Don't Give Up! Synopsis

A fantastic rhyming story by Smriti Halls (I'm Sticking With You and Rain Before Rainbows), with dynamic illustrations from Richard Merritt (The Dinosaur Department Store), about discovering grit and building determination.

Diplodocus Dinah is brilliant at everything. There's nothing she can't do and no competition she can't win! But what happens when the Surfing Contest comes to Dino Town and Dinah discovers that surfing is something she just can't dino-do! For the first time ever Dinah doesn't come first. Will she be distraught? Or will she discover that there's more to having fun than winning?

An encouraging and inspiring story, packed with hidden humour, that's perfect for fans of Giles Andreae's Giraffes Can't Dance.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781801043090
Publication date: 7th July 2022
Author: Smriti Halls
Illustrator: Richard Merritt
Publisher: Little Tiger Press an imprint of Little Tiger Press Group
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 32 pages
Year Groups: Early Years
Topics: Animal Stories, Family / Home Stories, Funny

About Smriti Halls

Smriti Halls is the international bestselling author of I Love You Night and Day and Don't Call Me Sweet both published by Bloomsbury. Before becoming a full time writer in 2012, she worked in children's publishing and television. She lives in London with her husband and three children, reading, writing and eating avocado pears. Read the author's Q&A here.

More About Smriti Halls

More Books By Smriti Halls

Cover for Who Are You? by Smriti Halls
Cover for Rain Before Rainbows by Smriti Halls
Cover for I'm Sticking with You by Smriti Halls
View All Books By Smriti Halls

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools