LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Kitty and the Star Stone Robber

Written by Paula Harrison

Illustrated by Jenny Lovlie

Key Stage 1 Adventure Stories Stories about Animals Fantasy / Magical

LoveReading View on Kitty and the Star Stone Robber

Moonlight adventures at the museum for cat girl superhero Kitty

Little Kitty has superpowers just like her mum and she puts them to good use in this new adventure, tracking down the thief who’s stolen dinosaur bones and precious stones from the natural history museum. Her Cat Crew are there to support her, including her special sidekick ginger kitten Pumpkin.

At first the clues seem to lead to Dodger, a cat burglar with a liking for sparkly jewels. In fact, Dodger’s not to blame and Kitty is able to track down the real culprit. The mystery is great fun to solve and as always there’s a gentle emphasis on friendship, doing the right thing, and being brave.

Jenny Løvlie’s gorgeous black and orange illustrations create some lovely moonlight scenes and this series is purr-fect for readers ready for chapter books.

Andrea Reece

Kitty and the Star Stone Robber Synopsis

Kitty is a superhero-in-training with feline super powers. She dreams of being just like her superhero mum one day, but she's still got a lot to learn. Join her for a series of enchanting adventures by the light of the moon.

In Kitty and the Star Stone Robber, Kitty is called to a break-in at the city museum. Dinosaur bones, glittering gems, and a special sparkling meteorite are all missing. Kitty has a clear idea of who the robber could be, but is it a case of mistaken identity?

Kitty and the Star Stone Robber Press Reviews

Praise for Kitty series:

'Kitty and her friends are hugely appealing characters and this little story is full of useful, important lessons about friendship, bravery, and finding courage within yourself. It is a perfect book for little girls and boys confidently reading on their own.' - Books for Keeps

'The first in a lovely new series for fans of Isadora Moon, Kitty is a relatable little girl whose night-time adventures feature a cast of lovely cat characters - adventurous Figaro, sophisticated Katsumi and curious Pixie. A gentle theme of friendship, bravery and being yourself also runs throughout.' - Book Trust, Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue

'Kitty's magical story is enhanced and energised by the detailed illustrations that breathe life into the cheeky cat characters and the fantastic garden they find. A great first outing into the world of 'chapter' books, Kitty's exploits are ideal for reading aloud or to bridge the gap between picture books and lengthier fiction.' - Book Trust, Kitty and the Sky Garden Adventure

'An utter delight and a perfect book for emerging readers' - V's View from the Bookshelves

'This feline frolic will appeal to readers starting their first chapter books.' - iNews

'Harrison writes an amusing story of bravery and self-confidence, encouraging newly independent readers with Mom's words: Don't let fear hold you back. You're braver than you think.' - Kirkus Reviews

'Beautifully presented in a small format for little hands and densely illustrated in tones of grey and orange on almost every page, superhero Kitty's magical story is simply purrfect for both cat lovers and young adventurers.' - Lancashire Post

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192777874
Publication date: 7th July 2022
Author: Paula Harrison
Illustrator: Jenny Lovlie
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 128 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 1
Topics: Adventure Stories, Animals, Fantasy / Magical

About Paula Harrison

Paula Harrison began inventing stories and writing them down as a child. One of her best was about a magical land inhabited by talking bookworms. After taking an English degree, she became a primary school teacher and is now married with two children. She loves inspiring children's imaginations and believes that day-dreaming can be a really good use of your time (although she hasn't actually said that during a lesson). Over the years, she's shared many different authors' books with children, and now she can't wait to share her own. Paula says: “The beginnings of the idea for ...

More About Paula Harrison

More Books By Paula Harrison

Cover for Kitty and the Kidnap Trap by Paula Harrison
Cover for Dark Tree Shining by Paula Harrison
Cover for Red Moon Rising by Paula Harrison
View All Books By Paula Harrison

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools