Written by K. M. Peyton

Part of the Oxford Children's Classics Series

Key Stage 2 Classic Fiction

LoveReading View on Flambards

Christina is sent to stay with her terrifying uncle and her cousins at Flambards, a rambling house in the country where riding and hunting are the most prized activities. Everything about the countryside - and her relatives - is new to Christina but she soon finds she loves riding. And, in different ways, she begins to love her cousins. The first volume in a hugely romantic trilogy.

Flambards Synopsis

The first in a trilogy, twelve-year-old Christina is sent to live with her fierce uncle and his two sons in their decaying mansion, Flambards. Christina discovers a passion for horses and riding, but finds herself part of a strange household, divided by emotional undercurrents and cruelty.

Oxford Children’s Books has produced some absolutely delightful new editions of some enduring and unforgettable classics, including Hound of the Baskervilles, Little Women, The Jungle Book, Anne of Green Gables, Treasure Island and Ballet Shoes.  The texts are complete and unabridged and each of them is beautifully designed in a small format hardback edition.  They’re books to treasure and return to again and again.

Book Information

ISBN: 9780192720030
Publication date: 2nd August 2007
Author: K. M. Peyton
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Format: Hardback
Pagination: 240 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 2
Topics: Classic Fiction

About K. M. Peyton

Born in 1929 K. M. Peyton is a well known and well loved author of over 50 books for children. Author of the Flambards Series and A Pattern of Roses, both of which have been adapted for film, she was winner of the Carnegie Medal in 1969 for The Edge of the Cloud, part of the Flambards Series.

More About K. M. Peyton

More Books By K. M. Peyton

Cover for Wild Lily by K. M. Peyton
Cover for Wild Lily by K. M. Peyton
Cover for Dear Fred by K. M. Peyton
View All Books By K. M. Peyton

Share this book