LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Murderer's Ape

Written by Jakob Wegelius

Murderer's Ape Synopsis

"e;This may be the most charming book I've read all year."e; --The New York Times"e;I don't know when I last read a book with such pure and unalloyed pleasure."e; --Philip Pullman, internationally bestselling author of The Golden Compass and The Book of DustWinner of the Mildred L. Batchelder award, this is acaptivating story about dark truths and heinous crimes as well as unexpected friendships, with detailed black-and-white illustrations throughout. Perfect for fans of Brian Selznick and mystery and detective stories.Sally Jones is not only a loyal friend, she's an extraordinary individual. In overalls or in a maharaja's turban, this unique gorilla moves among humans without speaking butunderstanding everything. She and the Chief are devoted comrades who operate a cargo boat. A job they are offered pays big bucks, but thedeal ends badly, and the Chief is falsely convicted of murder. For Sally Jones this is the start of a harrowing quest for survival and to clear the Chief's name. Powerful forces are working against her, and they will do anything to protect their secrets.

Book Information

ISBN: 9781524722593
Publication date: 24th January 2017
Author: Jakob Wegelius
Publisher: Books on Tape Listening Library
Format: eBook

About Jakob Wegelius

Jakob Wegelius is a Swedish writer and illustrator who lives and works in the small village of Mörtfors. In Sweden, he was awarded the August Prize for Best Children’s Book and the Nordic Council Children and Young People’s Literature Prize for The Murderer’s Ape. It won the leading children’s book prizes in Germany and France and is also an International Youth Library White Raven selection. Pushkin Children’s will also publish The Legend of Sally Jones. Jakob Wegelius (c) Lena Sjo╠łberg

More About Jakob Wegelius

More Books By Jakob Wegelius

Cover for The False Rose by Jakob Wegelius
Cover for The Murderer's Ape by Jakob Wegelius
Cover for The Legend of Sally Jones by Jakob Wegelius
View All Books By Jakob Wegelius

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools