LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

City of Rust

Adrenaline charged sci-fi adventure with an ecological theme

Book Cover for City of Rust by Gemma Fowler

Anita and the Dragons

Beautiful and evocative story about the bravery it takes to leave a homeland you love

Book Cover for Anita and the Dragons by Hannah Carmona

Mort the Meek and the Ravens' Revenge

A gleefully gruesome and hilarious new series about a would-be pacifist living in the aptly named kingdom of Brutalia

Book Cover for Mort the Meek and the Ravens' Revenge by Rachel Delahaye

Usborne Book of the Brain and How it Works

This visually astonishing story takes children on a journey into and through the brain. Simple but beautifully illustrated metaphors explain the different jobs that our brains do, and how they use brain cells to accomplish them. From the senses to sleep, memories to making decisions, this book brings the wonder of brains and brain science to life.

Book Cover for Usborne Book of the Brain and How it Works by Betina Ip

The Perfect Fit

A perfect way to learn about shapes and have some fun along the way!

Book Cover for The Perfect Fit by Naomi Jones

Hom

Desert island adventures and a special friendship

Book Cover for Hom by Jeanne Willis

Climate Action

A comprehensively clear book about climate change, the causes, the effects and what we can do about it

Book Cover for Climate Action  by Georgina Stevens

Shades of Scarlet

When Mum gives her the notebook, Scarlet should be happy. It's beautiful, with its shiny scarlet cover and its blank pages full of promise. But Scarlet is absolutely not in the mood for a peace offering. Does Mum really think she can tear their family apart and expect Scarlet to be happy about it? And it's Dad's fault too.

Book Cover for Shades of Scarlet by Anne Fine

Real Pigeons Fight Crime

With master of disguise Rock Pigeon, bendy Tumbler, strong Frillback and super-finder Homey, the REAL PIGEONS will solve any mystery and fight any bad guy to keep the city safe!

Book Cover for Real Pigeons Fight Crime by Andrew McDonald

Tsunami Girl

Told partly in manga this is the story of a girl who survived the terrible 2011 Japanese earthquake and Tsunami

Book Cover for Tsunami Girl  by Julian Sedgwick

All American Boys

Mind-blowingly powerful story of police brutality and overcoming the racism of silence

Book Cover for All American Boys by Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely

The Last Hawk

Critically acclaimed Elizabeth Wein returns with a thrilling, female-led aviation adventure set against the backdrop of Hitler’s Germany and the last days of the Nazi regime.

Book Cover for The Last Hawk by Elizabeth Wein

Latest Children's Book Reviews

Utterly Jarvellous

50 primary science activities you can do in a jar


With 50 fun, accessible and sustainable lesson ideas covering the entire Key Stage 2 National Curriculum for science, this book will inspire teachers and engage children of all abilities. The whole class will be mesmerised by experiments to simulate a solar eclipse, build a wormery, make a lava lamp and watch a volcano erupt - all in a jar.  Read Full Review

LoveReading4Kids

Phoenix Flame

New York Times bestselling author Sara Holland continues her blockbuster contemporary fantasy series, Havenfall, with this unforgettable sequel


Maddie must embark on a dangerous mission: to venture into the icy Realm of Fiordenkill and put an end to the black market trading of souls that threatens the balance of the Realms. As Maddie tries to accomplish these seemingly impossible tasks, she stumbles upon family secrets that could change everything. What if saving everyone means destroying the only home she's ever known? This next breathtaking fantasy from the bestselling author of Everless is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert and Holly Black. Read Full Review

LoveReading4Kids

Meet the Oceans


This bold, bright follow-up to the acclaimed picture book Meet the Planets is packed with sea creatures from dolphins and beluga whales to turtles and manatees. The ocean is a vast treasure-house, threatened by plastic waste and pollution, and this picture book is the ideal introduction to the importance of caring for it. It's perfect for all would-be explorers! Read Full Review

LoveReading4Kids

Sign up to LoveReading4Schools

Let LoveReading4Schools help you engender a life-long love of reading in your children.

About LoveReading4Schools

LoveReading is the UK’s leading portfolio of book recommendation websites. Our mission is to promote a love of books and reading to all by offering the tools, advice and information needed to help our members and browsers to find their next favourite book.

LoveReading4Schools is a critical part of this and one we take very seriously. As a community we believe we have a social responsibility to support time-strapped teachers and librarians in schools to help engender a life-long love of reading in their students.

This new website relaunched in January 2019 and comes with tons of added functionality and a fully updated set of reading recommendation lists for every year group from Early Years to Year 11.

In addition, we will be regularly publishing other lists of great relevance and importance for schools today including lists of Inspirational Books, Cultural Books, Reluctant Readers Recommendations and Mental Health and Wellbeing.

It will also house every book we read, review and recommend on our sister site LoveReading4Kids which was relaunched in October.

Read more

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools