LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Ruta Sepetys - Author

About the Author

Ruta Sepetys is the author of acclaimed YA novel, Between Shades of Grey. Born and raised in Michigan in a family of Lithuanian descent, Ruta now lives with her husband in Tennessee. Ruta was a highly successful promoter of classical music concerts, booking and touring with orchestras worldwide, before turning to writing full-time. In 2015, Ruta was awarded The Rockefeller Foundation's prestigious Bellagio Center writing residency, where she interacted with other leading international artists, writers and thinkers.

Ruta discovered the story on which Salt to the Sea is based originally through a family connection and discovered that a cousin of her father’s should have been on board but a fortunate accident near the port meant he missed boarding, saving his life. The book has recently been picked up for development by Universal Pictures.


Featured books by Ruta Sepetys

Other books by Ruta Sepetys

The Fountains of Silence

The Fountains of Silence

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 01/10/2019

FROM CARNEGIE MEDAL WINNING AUTHOR RUTA SEPETYS Madrid, 1957. Tourists and foreign businessmen flood into Spain under the welcoming guise of sunshine and wine while Spanish citizens are gripped by a dark secret. Daniel Matheson, the son of an oil tycoon, hopes to connect with the country of his mother's birth through the lens of his camera. Photography -and fate - introduce him to Ana, a hotel maid, whose family is suffering under the fascist dictatorship of General Franco. Daniel and Ana's lives and hearts collide as they unite to uncover the hidden darkness within the city - a darkness that could engulf them all. . . Master storyteller Ruta Sepetys once again shines light into one of history's darkest corners in this epic, heart-wrenching novel about identity, unforgettable love and the hidden violence of silence. **PRAISE FOR THE FOUNTAINS OF SILENCE** 'Captivating, deft, and illuminating historical fiction.' Booklist 'Gripping.' Publishers Weekly 'A stunning novel that exposes modern fascism and elevates human resilience.' Kirkus 'An exemplary work of historical fiction.' The Horn Book

Out of the Easy

Out of the Easy

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: eBook Release Date: 02/02/2016

Out of the Easy is set against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New Orleans. Written by New York Times bestselling author Ruth Sepetys, this novel has something for everyone: love, mystery, murder, blackmail and warmth. Josie Moraine wants out of The Big Easy - she needs more than New Orleans can offer. Known locally as a brothel prostitute's daughter, she dreams of life at an elite college, far away from here. But then a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie caught between her ambition and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans is luring Josie deeper in as she searches for the truth, and temptation beckons at every turn. Praise for Between Shades of Gray: 'This superlative first novel by Ruta Sepetys demonstrates the strength of its unembellished language. A hefty emotional punch' - The New York Times '. . . moving and heart-wrenching.' - The Guardian Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Tennessee. Her first novel, Between Shades of Gray, was shortlisted for the 2012 Carnegie Medal and the Waterstones Children's Book Award.

Out of the Easy

Out of the Easy

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 07/03/2013

Out of the Easy is set against the vivid backdrop of 1950s New Orleans. Written by New York Times bestselling author Ruth Sepetys, this novel has something for everyone: love, mystery, murder, blackmail and warmth. Josie Moraine wants out of The Big Easy - she needs more than New Orleans can offer. Known locally as a brothel prostitute's daughter, she dreams of life at an elite college, far away from here. But then a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie caught between her ambition and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans is luring Josie deeper in as she searches for the truth, and temptation beckons at every turn. Praise for Between Shades of Gray: 'This superlative first novel by Ruta Sepetys demonstrates the strength of its unembellished language. A hefty emotional punch' - The New York Times '. . . moving and heart-wrenching.' - The Guardian Ruta Sepetys was born and raised in Michigan and now lives with her family in Tennessee. Her first novel, Between Shades of Gray, was shortlisted for the 2012 Carnegie Medal and the Waterstones Children's Book Award.

Between Shades of Gray

Between Shades of Gray

Author: Ruta Sepetys Format: eBook Release Date: 22/03/2011

"e;Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."e; --The Washington PostFrom New York Timesand international bestseller and Carnegie Medal winner Ruta Sepetys, author of Salt to the Sea, comes a story of loss and of fear -- and ultimately, of survival. A New York Times notable bookAn international bestsellerA Carnegie Medal nominee A William C. Morris Award finalistA Golden Kite Award winner Fifteen-year-old Lina is a Lithuanian girl living an ordinary life -- until Soviet officers invade her home and tear her family apart. Separated from her father and forced onto a crowded train, Lina, her mother, and her young brother make their way to a Siberian work camp, where they are forced to fight for their lives. Lina finds solace in her art, documenting these events by drawing. Risking everything, she imbeds clues in her drawings of their location and secretly passes them along, hoping her drawings will make their way to her father's prison camp. But will strength, love, and hope be enough for Lina and her family to survive? A moving and haunting novel perfect for readers of The Book Thief.Praise for Between Shades of Gray:"e;Superlative. A hefty emotional punch."e; --The New York Times Book Review"e;Heart-wrenching . . . an eye-opening reimagination of a very real tragedy written with grace and heart."e; --The Los Angeles Times"e;At once a suspenseful, drama-packed survival story, a romance, and an intricately researched work of historial fiction."e; --The Wall Street Journal* "e;Beautifully written and deeply felt . . . An important book that deserves the widest possible readership."e; --Booklist, starred review

Author Info

Author's Website

https://rutasepetys.com/

Author's Facebook

Find Ruta Sepetys on Facebook
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools