LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Tom Pollock - Author

About the Author

Described as "A powerful new imagination" by The Guardian, Tom Pollock is the author of four novels, and an ambassador for Talklife, the peer support network for youth mental health, for whom he blogs about his experiences with depression, anxiety and bulimia at https://blog.talklife.co/. Inspired by those experiences, White Rabbit/Red Wolf is his first thriller for young adults. He lives and works in London.

Books by Tom Pollock

Heartstream

Heartstream

Author: Tom Pollock Format: CD-Audio Release Date: 03/10/2019

Cat is in love. Always the sensible one, she can't believe that she's actually dating, not to mention dating a star. But the fandom can't know. They would eat her alive. And first at the buffet would definitely be her best friend, Evie. Amy uses Heartstream, a social media app that allows others to feel your emotions. She broadcasted every moment of her mother's degenerative illness, and her grief following her death. It's the realest, rawest reality TV imaginable. But on the day of Amy's mother's funeral, Amy finds a strange woman in her kitchen. She's rigged herself and the house with explosives and she's been waiting to talk to Amy for a long time. Who is she? A crazed fan? What does she want? Amy and Cat are about to discover how far true obsession can go. Cat is in love. Always the sensible one, she can't believe that she's actually dating, not to mention dating a star. But the fandom can't know. They would eat her alive. And first at the buffet would definitely be her best friend, Evie. Amy uses Heartstream, a social media app that allows others to feel your emotions. She broadcasted every moment of her mother's degenerative illness, and her grief following her death. It's the realest, rawest reality TV imaginable. But on the day of Amy's mother's funeral, Amy finds a strange woman in her kitchen. She's rigged herself and the house with explosives and she's been waiting to talk to Amy for a long time. Amy and Cat are about to discover how far true obsession can go.

White Rabbit, Red Wolf

White Rabbit, Red Wolf

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 03/05/2018

"e;A gripping and gloriously treacherous thriller without guide ropes or safety nets. Leave all certainties by the door."e; Frances Hardinge A taut thriller about murder, maths and the mind. Peter Blankman is afraid of everything but must confront truly unimaginable terror when his mother is attacked.Seventeen-year-old Peter Blankman is a maths prodigy. He also suffers from severe panic attacks. Afraid of everything, he finds solace in the orderly and logical world of mathematics and in the love of his family: his scientist mum and his tough twin sister Bel, as well as Ingrid, his only friend. However, when his mother is found stabbed before an award ceremony and his sister is nowhere to be found, Pete is dragged into a world of espionage and violence where state and family secrets intertwine. Armed only with his extraordinary analytical skills, Peter may just discover that his biggest weakness is his greatest strength.

White Rabbit, Red Wolf

White Rabbit, Red Wolf

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 03/05/2018

"e;A gripping and gloriously treacherous thriller without guide ropes or safety nets. Leave all certainties by the door."e; Frances Hardinge A taut thriller about murder, maths and the mind. Peter Blankman is afraid of everything but must confront truly unimaginable terror when his mother is attacked.Seventeen-year-old Peter Blankman is a maths prodigy. He also suffers from severe panic attacks. Afraid of everything, he finds solace in the orderly and logical world of mathematics and in the love of his family: his scientist mum and his tough twin sister Bel, as well as Ingrid, his only friend. However, when his mother is found stabbed before an award ceremony and his sister is nowhere to be found, Pete is dragged into a world of espionage and violence where state and family secrets intertwine. Armed only with his extraordinary analytical skills, Peter may just discover that his biggest weakness is his greatest strength.

Our Lady of the Streets

Our Lady of the Streets

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 07/06/2016

Ever since Beth Bradley found her way into a hidden London, the presence of its ruthless goddess, Mater Viae, has lurked in the background. Now Mater Viae has returned with deadly consequences. Streets are wracked by convulsions as muscles of wire and pipe go into spasm, bunching the city into a crippled new geography; pavements flare to thousand-degree fevers, incinerating pedestrians; and towers fall, their foundations decayed. As the city sickens, so does Bethher essence now part of this secret London. But when it is revealed that Mater Viae's plans for dominion stretch far beyond the borders of the city, Beth must make a choice: flee, or sacrifice her city in order to save it.

Glass Republic

Glass Republic

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 03/05/2016

The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.Pen's life is about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters, living just beyond the notice of modern Londoners; the secret of Pen's intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly; and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflections in a school bathroom mirror.Pen's reflected twin is the only girl who really understands her. Then Parva is abducted and Pen makes a terrible bargain to track her down. In London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. But some in the reflected city will do anything to keep Pen from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face.

City's Son

City's Son

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 05/04/2016

Tom Pollock's debut novel and the first volume of the Skyscraper Throne series, The City's Son is an imaginative tale of adventure set in a city that is quite literally alive.Beneath the streets of London lies a city of monsters and miracles, where wild train spirits stampede over the tracks and glass-skinned dancers with glowing veins light the streets.Following a devastating betrayal, Beth Bradley, a sixteen-year-old graffiti artist, is suspended from school. Running from a home that she shares with her father who has never recovered after Beth's mother's death, Beth stumbles into the hidden city and meets Filius Viae, London's asphalt-hued crown prince. And her timing couldn't have been more perfect. An ancient enemy is stirring under St. Paul's Cathedral, determined to stoke the flames of a centuries-old war, and Beth and Fin find themselves drawn into the depths of the mysterious urban wonderland, hoping to prevent the destruction of the city they both know and love.

Our Lady of the Streets The Skyscraper Throne Book 3

Our Lady of the Streets The Skyscraper Throne Book 3

Author: Tom Pollock Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 04/06/2015

'I couldn't have asked for a more satisfying finale' Tor.com In this thrilling conclusion to the Skyscraper Throne trilogy, Beth will come face-to-face with the goddess of the streets . . . Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere. Ever since Beth and Pen found their way into the hidden corners of London, the presence of its ruthless goddess, Mater Viae, has haunted its twisting streets. Now Mater Viae has returned with deadly consequences. The streets are wracked by convulsions as wires and pipe go into spasm, bunching the city into a crippled new geography; pavements flare to thousand-degree fevers, incinerating pedestrians; and towers fall, their foundations decayed. It seems there is nothing Beth and Pen can do to stop this insane goddess. As the city sickens, so does Beth - her essence now part of this secret London. But when it is revealed that Mater Viae's plans for dominion stretch far beyond the borders of the city, Beth must make a choice: flee, or sacrifice her city in order to save it. Our Lady of the Street is the third book and thrilling conclusion in The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.

Skyscraper Throne

Skyscraper Throne

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 12/02/2015

'An impeccably dark parable, endlessly inventive and utterly compelling' Mike Carey, author of The Girl with all the GiftsWelcome to the world of the Skyscraper Throne: a hidden London that lurks just beneath the surface of the city, full of marvels, magic . . . and menace.When seventeen-year-old graffiti artist Beth runs away from home, she doesn't suspect that beneath our London, lies a hidden world of creatures who live off the city, nor does she expect to find Filius Viae, the Urchin, the Son of the Streets, or to drag her friend Pen along with her.When war threatens to decimate this world Beth must decide - fight, or flee?This omnibus edition contains The City's Son, The Glass Republic and The Skyscraper Throne plus bonus material!

The Glass Republic The Skyscraper Throne Book 2

The Glass Republic The Skyscraper Throne Book 2

Author: Tom Pollock Format: Paperback / softback Release Date: 31/07/2014

'Marks the appearance of a powerful new imagination in SF' Guardian In the gripping sequel to The City's Son, Pen returns to London-Under-Glass when her mirror sister - and biggest secret - is abducted. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere. Pen's life is all about secrets: the secret of the city's spirits, deities and monsters that live just beyond notice, the secret of how she got the intricate scars that disfigure her so cruelly - and the most closely guarded secret of all: Parva, her mirror-sister, forged from her reflection in a school bathroom mirror and the only person who really understands her. When Parva is abducted, Pen is forced to make a terrible bargain for the means to track her down, for in London-Under-Glass, looks are currency, and Pen's scars make her a rare and valuable commodity. Kept company by the pretty and fierce steeplejill, Espel, Pen isn't completely alone, but some in the reflected city will do anything to keep her from the secret of what happened to the sister who shared her face. The Glass Republic is the gripping sequel to The City's Son, and the second book of The Skyscraper Throne trilogy.

Der Wolkenkratzerthron

Der Wolkenkratzerthron

Author: Tom Pollock Format: eBook Release Date: 19/07/2013

Hinter dem bekannten London existiert eine Stadt, bevolkert mit Monstern und Wunderdingen. Dort stampfen wilde Zuggeister uber die Gleise und glashautige Tanzer mit gluhenden Adern erleuchten die Straen. Als die junge Beth Bradley - Graffiti-Kunstlerin - von ihrer besten Freundin Pen verpfiffen wird und von der Schule fliegt, reit sie von zu Hause aus und gerat in den geheimen Teil der Stadt. Dort begegnet sie Filius Viae, dem wilden Kronprinzen der Stadt, der ihre Hilfe braucht: Ein alter Feind ist in die Dunkelheit unterhalb der St Paul's Cathedral zuruckgekehrt, und ein jahrhundertealter Krieg droht dadurch wieder aufzuflammen. Beth und Fil irren in atemberaubendem Tempo durch das bizarre Wunderland auf der Suche nach Verbundeten und einem Weg, die Stadt, die sie beide so sehr lieben, zu retten. Ein Buch uber Freunde und Monster und daruber, dass man sie nicht immer klar voneinander unterscheiden kann.

Author Info

Author's Website

https://blog.talklife.co/
LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools