LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

The Goldfish Boy

Written by Lisa Thompson

Key Stage 3 Family / Home Stories

LoveReading View on The Goldfish Boy

Longlisted for the Branford Boase Award 2018  |  Longlisted for the UKLA 2018 Book Award

A Julia Eccleshare Pick of the Month January 2017   A gripping debut middle-grade story skilfully told by debut novelist Lisa Thompson. Trapped indoors by his obsessive fears of germs and much else Matthew watches his neighbours’ lives and details their every move. That’s why he’s the person who knows when toddler Teddy was last seen in his grandfather’s garden. When Teddy goes missing is it Matthew who holds the answer that everyone is seeking? Alongside the detective drama in the background, Lisa Thompson is also insightful about Matthew’s crippling anxieties and how they resolve.  ~ Julia Eccleshare

Julia Eccleshare's Picks of the Month for January 2017

The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson

The Crayons’ Book of Numbers by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

The Crayons’ Book of Colours by Drew Daywalt and Oliver Jeffers

Jim by Hilaire Belloc and Mini Grey

His Royal Whiskers by Sam Gayton

 

LoveReading4Kids

The Goldfish Boy Synopsis

Twelve-year-old Matthew is trapped in his bedroom by crippling OCD, spending most of his time staring out of his window as the inhabitants of Chestnut Close go about their business. Until the day he is the last person to see his next door neighbour's toddler, Teddy, before he goes missing. Matthew must turn detective and unravel the mystery of Teddy's disappearance - with the help of a brilliant cast of supporting characters.

Page-turning, heartbreaking, but ultimately life-affirming, this story is perfect for fans of The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Wonder. It is a book that will make you laugh and cry.

The Goldfish Boy Press Reviews

"A genuinely clever mystery"  Robin Stevens, author of Murder Most Unladylike

"A great cast of characters and an intriguing mystery - Ross Welford, author of Time Travelling With A Hamster

Book Information

ISBN: 9781407170992
Publication date: 5th January 2017
Author: Lisa Thompson
Publisher: Scholastic
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 400 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 3
Topics: Family / Home Stories

About Lisa Thompson

Lisa Thompson is a children’s novelist and the author of the best-selling The Goldfish Boy and The Light Jar. The Goldfish Boy was a Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month and was nominated for the Carnegie Medal, the Branford Boase Award and the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize. She lives in Suffolk with her family  

More About Lisa Thompson

More Books By Lisa Thompson

Cover for The Small Things by Lisa Thompson
Cover for The Boy Who Fooled the World by Lisa Thompson
Cover for Owen & the Soldier  by Lisa Thompson
View All Books By Lisa Thompson

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools