LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Raymie Nightingale

Written by Kate DiCamillo

Key Stage 3 General Fiction

LoveReading View on Raymie Nightingale

Some momentous things happen in the course of this book: a father leaves, buildings are burgled, a cat is lost and found, hearts are broken, good deeds attempted, and someone is saved from drowning. More affecting than all of that however, is the friendship formed between three girls, and the anxieties soothed as a result. In the hope of becoming Little Miss Central Florida Tyre, Raymie is having baton-twirling lessons with the fearsome Ida Nee. There she meets Louisiana, orphaned daughter of high wire stars the Flying Elefantes, and Beverly Tapinski, gruff, stubborn and fearless. Together they become the Three Rancheros, and as such their worlds are changed. DiCamillo lets readers see through Raymie’s eyes, live through the summer with her and it’s an unforgettable experience. ~ Andrea Reece

LoveReading4Kids

Raymie Nightingale Synopsis

New York Times bestselling author Kate DiCamillo returns to her roots with a moving yet witty story of an unforgettable summer friendship. For fans of Jacqueline Wilson, David Almond and Katherine Rundell.

In her seventh novel, international bestselling author and twice winner of the prestigious Newbery Medal Kate DiCamillo tells a masterful story that blends pathos and humour. Raymie Clarke has come to realize that everything, absolutely everything, depends on her. And she has a plan. If Raymie can win the Little Miss Central Florida Tire competition, then her father - who has run away with a dental hygienist - will see Raymie's picture in the paper and (maybe) come home. To win, not only does Raymie have to do good deeds and learn how to twirl a baton, but she has to compete with the wispy, frequently fainting Louisiana Elefante with her show-business background and the fiery, stubborn Beverly Tapinski, who's determined to sabotage the contest. But as the competition approaches, loneliness, loss and unanswerable questions draw the three girls into an unlikely friendship - and challenge them to come to each other's rescue in unexpected ways.

Raymie Nightingale Reader Reviews

Kids love to read and so in addition to our Lovereading expert opinion some of our Lovereading4kids Reader Review Panel were also lucky enough to read and review this title. You can read their full reviews by clicking here.

  • Jasmine Harris-Hart - 'A wonderful story about friendships between three girls and how they helped each other throughout their ups and downs.'
  • Zoe Basson, age 8 - 'Raymie Nightingale is a great book and I would recommend it to anyone and everyone.'
  • Joshua Zinkin, age 11 - 'It's a clever friendship story that raises questions, is very enjoyable and makes you laugh, despite being sad in places. Perfect for the age group and easy to read.'

Raymie Nightingale Press Reviews

“As wise and tough and funny as it is beautiful; this book is a reminder that courage comes in many different forms. I loved it.” Katherine Rundell

"A touching story about love and loss." Jacqueline Wilson

Book Information

ISBN: 9781406373189
Publication date: 1st May 2017
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 272 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 3
Topics: General Fiction

About Kate DiCamillo

Kate DiCamillo’s writing journey has been a truly remarkable one. She grew up in Florida and moved to Minnesota in her twenties, when homesickness and a bitter winter led her to write Because of WinnDixie – her first published novel, which became a runaway bestseller and snapped up a Newbery Honor. The Tiger Rising, her second novel, was also set in Florida and went on to become a National Book Award finalist. Since then, the bestselling author has explored settings as varied as a medieval castle and a magician’s theatre while continuing to enjoy great success, ...

More About Kate DiCamillo

More Books By Kate DiCamillo

Cover for Beverly, Right Here by Kate DiCamillo
Cover for Louisiana's Way Home by Kate DiCamillo
Cover for La La La: A Story of Hope by Kate DiCamillo
View All Books By Kate DiCamillo

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveWriting
LoveReading4Schools