LoveReading4Schools

Becoming a member of the LoveReading4Schools community is free.

No catches, no fine print just unconditional book love and reading recommendations for your students and children.

You can create your own school's page, develop tailored reading lists to share with peers and parents...all helping encourage reading for pleasure in your children.

Find out more

Library Of Souls

Written by Ransom Riggs

Key Stage 3 Fantasy / Magical Horror & Ghost Stories

Library Of Souls Synopsis

As the story opens, sixteen-year-old Jacob discovers a powerful new ability, and soon he's diving through history to rescue his peculiar companions from a heavily guarded fortress. Accompanying Jacob on his journey are Emma Bloom, a girl with fire at her fingertips, and Addison MacHenry, a dog with a nose for sniffing out lost children. They'll travel from modern-day London to the labyrinthine alleys of Devil's Acre, the most wretched slum in all of Victorian England. It's a place where the fate of peculiar children everywhere will be decided once and for all.

Library Of Souls Press Reviews

Oh, my birds, I love this book! I'm obsessed with Ransom Riggs' wildly creative world packed with heroic, heartwarming characters, supper baddies, and incredible settings like Devil's Acre and the Library of Souls. --Annalyse, Justine Magazine

Fans of the trilogy's first two books will enjoy Library of Souls for its unique world, fast action, satisfying answers and a thorough tying up of loose ends. --Free Lance-Star

Library of Souls will not disappoint. --Forces of Geek

I was blown away by the way the haunting photographs were woven so seamlessly into the incredible plot. And Library of Souls has simply the most perfect ending. --Nikki, Justine Magazine

The challenge Riggs faces in Library of Souls is to match the remarkably high standard set by the first two books in the series, either the mind-bending bafflements of the first book or the edge-of-your-seat action of the second. Riggs succeeds, delivering a thrilling conclusion to Jacob's trilogy. --Paste magazine

Fans will easily lose themselves in this most peculiar tale of all. --Booklist

Thrilling and satisfying. --School Library Journal

Enthralling. --Children's Bookwatch

I enjoyed reading this book so much, the cliched, 'I couldn't put it down, ' doesn't suffice. --Geeks of Doom

Readers are sure to leap right in after the cliffhanger ending of Hollow City, and they won't be disappointed. --RT Book Review, 4 1/2 out of 5 stars

Non-stop wonder. --Geeks of Doom

Praise for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children;

A tense, moving, and wondrously strange first novel. The photographs and text work together brilliantly to create an unforgettable story. --John Green, New York Times best-selling author of Looking for Alaska and Paper Towns

Readers searching for the next Harry Potter may want to visit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. --CNN

Riggs deftly moves between fantasy and reality, prose and photography to create an enchanting and at times positively terrifying story. --Associated Press

I read all of the Miss Peregrine's Peculiar Children books and I loved them. --Florence of Florence + The Machine

[A] thrilling, Tim Burton-esque tale with haunting photographs. --USA Today Pop Candy

With its X-Men: First Class-meets-time-travel story line, David Lynchian imagery, and rich, eerie detail, it's no wonder Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children has been snapped up by Twentieth Century Fox. B+ --Entertainment Weekly

Peculiar' doesn't even begin to cover it. Riggs' chilling, wondrous novel is already headed to the movies. --People

You'll love it if you want a good thriller for the summer. It's a mystery, and you'll race to solve it before Jacob figures it out for himself. --Seventeen

This peculiar parable is pure perfection. --Justine magazine

One of the coolest, creepiest YA books. --PopSugar

Praise for Hollow City;

I was blown away...Hollow City is fantastic. --USAToday.com

A worthy follow-up, and as addictive a read as the first. --Hypable

Hollow City mixes spooky vintage photos and action-packed storytelling to continue the story of Jacob Portman and his fellow peculiars as they travel through time to war-torn London. --Dan Kois, Slate

A perfect blend of creepiness and thoughtfulness. --PopMatters

A stunning achievement... Hollow City is even richer than Riggs's imaginative debut, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. --Boston Globe

What makes the series soar, however, is not the world-building, as intriguing as it is, but the heartfelt intensity of the emotions. --Virginian-Pilot

Ideal for fans of Neil Gaiman and Daniel Kraus, Hollow City blends fantasy and horror into a world that will engross readers and leave them eager for more. --Shelf Awareness for Readers

A tasty adventure for any reader with an appetite for the...peculiar. --Kirkus Reviews

New readers of the series will find this novel a treat...Fans of the first title will find this book a treasure. The only downside: waiting for the third installment to find out what happens to Jacob and his peculiar friends. --School Library Journal

Riggs has created a fresh and original world in these Peregrine novels, with likable, quirky characters and a very readable style. --Library Journal Xpress Review

Book Information

ISBN: 9781594749315
Publication date: 25th April 2017
Author: Ransom Riggs
Publisher: Quirk Books
Format: Paperback
Pagination: 464 pages
Year Groups: Key Stage 3
Topics: Fantasy / Magical, Gritty Reads, Horror & Ghost Stories

About Ransom Riggs

Ransom Riggs grew up in Florida. His hobbies include wreck diving and collecting vintage photography. He lives in Los Angeles with his wife, bestselling author Tahereh Mafi.

More About Ransom Riggs

More Books By Ransom Riggs

Cover for The Conference of the Birds by Ransom Riggs
Cover for Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs
Cover for Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
View All Books By Ransom Riggs

Share this book

LoveReading
LoveReading4Kids
LoveReading4Schools